SOO News‎ > ‎News Flash‎ > ‎

What a Night! 2016 Provincial Awards

posted Feb 13, 2017, 7:21 AM by Hellaina VanErp-Rothenburg   [ updated Feb 13, 2017, 7:22 AM ]
(please click on post title to be taken to page with photo) Congratulations to all award recipients, honoured at the Special Olympics Ontario Annual General Meeting held November 9th in Markham. Northern Ontario was well-represented on the stage! Male Athlete of the Year is Dayne Tipper of Manitoulin Island, Team of the Year is the Manitoulin Rockin' Sweepers Curling Team, Educator of the Year is Rob Saunders of Near North, Volunteer of the Year is Denita Minoletti of Thunder Bay, and the President's Award was presented to Diane Wahlman of Timmins. Well-deserved recognition, to be sure. Also recognized were Years of Service recipients, including Reggie Lacroix of Sudbury East for 30 years of dedication to the organization. 
(pictured is Dayne Tipper on the left, standing alongside the Rockin' Sweepers)